Skip to main content

Eclipse Foundation Councils

As defined by the Eclipse Development Process, the open source projects in Eclipse are guided and co-ordinated by two Councils:

  • Planning: The Planning Council is responsible for establishing a coordinated Platform Release Plan that supports the Roadmap, and balances the many competing requirements. The Platform Release Plan describes the themes and priorities that focus these Releases, and orchestrates the dependencies among Project Plans.
  • Architecture: The Architecture Council is responsible for (i) monitoring, guiding, and influencing the software architectures used by Projects, (ii) new project mentoring, and (iii) maintaining and revising the Eclipse Development Process subject to the approval of the Board. More explanation of the Architecture Council can be found in the Eclipse Development Process and in the guidelines and checklists for the Architecture Council.

Planning council

Mikaël BarberoEclipse Foundationappointed
Melanie Bats*OBEOStrategic Developer
Wayne BeatonEclipse Foundationappointed
Nick BoldtRed Hat, Inc.Strategic Developer
Sopot CelaRed Hat, Inc.appointed
Nitin Dahyabhai Webtools PMC
Sam Davis Mylyn PMC
Jonah Graham Tools PMC
Neil HaugeOracleStrategic Developer
Markus KnauerEclipseSourceappointed
Alexander Kurtakov Eclipse PMC
Martin Lippert Ecd PMC
Stephan MerkerSAP SEStrategic Developer
Ed Merks Modeling PMC
Adrian Mos Soa PMC
Gunnar Wagenknecht Technology PMC
Thomas WatsonIBMStrategic Developer

Architecture council

Architecture Council members and the projects they are mentoring.

Chris AniszczykLinux Foundationappointed (2008)
Mentor for: iot.californium, locationtech.sfcurve,, rt.rap.incubator, rt.vertx, science.chemclipse, science.dawnsci, technology.skalli, technology.uomo, tools.thym
John Arthorne appointed (2007)
Mentor for: rt.vertx, soa.winery, technology.cbi
Mikaël BarberoEclipse Foundationappointed (2016)
Mentor for: ee4j.starter, technology.justj, technology.tea
Melanie BatsOBEOStrategic Developer
Wayne BeatonEclipse Foundationappointed (2007)
Mentor for:, automotive.simopenpass, automotive.tractusx, ee4j.jakartaee-examples, ee4j.nosql, iot.arrowhead, iot.californium, iot.fog05, iot.hawkbit, iot.ignite, iot.phizog, iot.tanglemktplaces, iot.tinydtls, iot.volttron, locationtech.udig, modeling.agileuml, openhw.corev, polarsys.eplmp, polarsys.esf, polarsys.opencert, science.richbeans, science.triquetrum, technology.comma, technology.dataeggs, technology.iottestware, technology.jemo, technology.jnosql, technology.lsat, technology.microprofile, technology.plato, technology.sisu, technology.trace4cps, webtools.glassfish-tools
Jay Billings appointed (2016)
Mentor for: adoptium.aqavit, science.eavp, science.january, science.scanning, science.statet, science.texlipse, technology.apogy, technology.systemfocus
Boris BokowskiGoogle Inc.appointed (2007)
Chuck Bridgham Webtools PMC
Ian BullEclipseSourceappointed (2012)
Mentor for: rt.ebr, technology.n4js
Benjamin CabéMicrosoft Corp.appointed (2012)
Mentor for: iot.concierge, iot.ignite, iot.mraa, iot.om2m, iot.tinydtls, iot.unide, iot.upm, locationtech.udig, polarsys.3p, technology.mbeddr
Christian Campocompeople AGappointed (2011)
David Carver appointed (2008)
Linda Chan appointed (2008)
Oliver ColeOC Systemsappointed (2008)
Adrian ColyerVMware, Inc.appointed (2007)
Naci DaiEteration A.Sappointed (2007)
Mentor for: automotive.mosaic, technology.ogee
John Duimovich Tools PMC
Mentor for: iot.concierge, technology.microprofile
Gorkem ErcanRed Hat, Inc.appointed (2018)
Mentor for: ecd.che.che4z, ecd.codewind
John GrahamRed Hat, Inc.appointed (2008)
Jonah GrahamKichwa Coders Canada Inc.appointed (2018)
Ivar GrimstadEclipse Foundationappointed (2018)
Mentor for: ee4j.exousia, ee4j.parsson, iot.sparkplug, technology.lsp4jakarta, technology.lsp4mp
Noopur GuptaIBMappointed (2019)
Mentor for: technology.skills
Sébastien GérardCEA LISTappointed (2015)
Mentor for: modeling.efm
Neil HaugeOracleappointed (2007)
Jonas HelmingEclipseSourceappointed (2013)
Mentor for: automotive.openmcx, iot.editdor, iot.vorto, modeling.gendoc, polarsys.chess, science.triquetrum, technology.openk-coremodules, technology.openk-platform, technology.openk-usermodules
Stephan Herrmann appointed (2017)
Kai HudallaRobert Bosch GmbHappointed (2018)
Mentor for: automotive.cloe, iot.hawkbit.hara, iot.tahu
Jim Hughes Locationtech PMC
Mentor for: automotive.kuksa, locationtech.geoperil, locationtech.proj4j, locationtech.rasterframes
Kenn Hussey appointed (2010)
Mentor for: modeling.elk, modeling.mdht, modeling.mdt.rmf, modeling.upr, polarsys.esf
Mickael IstriaRed Hat, Inc.appointed (2016)
Mentor for: technology.tm4e, tools.dartboard
Emily JiangIBMappointed (2018)
Mentor for: adoptium.temurin, technology.lsp4mp
Jeff JohnstonRed Hat, Inc.appointed (2018)
Markus KnauerEclipseSourceappointed (2008)
Mentor for: rt.rap.incubator, technology.camf
Maximilian KoegelEclipseSourceappointed (2013)
Mentor for: iot.hawkbit, polarsys.chess,, technology.camf, technology.efbt, technology.set
Bernd Kolbitemis AGappointed (2013)
Mentor for: modeling.emft, technology.skalli, technology.tycho
Dmitry KornilovOracleappointed (2018)
Alexander KurtakovRed Hat, Inc.appointed (2015)
Mentor for: science.statet
Benoit Langlois Polarsys PMC
Mentor for: modeling.capra, modeling.gemoc, polarsys.libims, polarsys.time4sys
Martin LippertVMware, Inc.appointed (2015)
Achim LoerkeBREDEX GmbHStrategic Developer
Jesse McConnellWebtide LLCappointed (2018)
Mentor for: asciidoc.asciidoc-lang, asciidoc.austen
Ed Merks appointed (2007)
Mentor for: adoptium.temurin-compliance, ecd.emfcloud, ecd.glsp, iot.4diac, modeling.emf.diffmerge, modeling.emft, modeling.fmc, modeling.hawk, modeling.mdht, modeling.mdt.rmf, modeling.tmf, technology.n4js, technology.ogee, technology.osbp
Mike MilinkovichEclipse Foundationappointed (2006)
Mentor for: eclipse.e4, technology.deeplearning4j
Tracy MirandaCloudBees Inc.appointed (2017)
Adrian Mos Soa PMC
Philippe MuletIBMappointed (2007)
Ingo Muschenetz appointed (2007)
Nikhil NanivadekarBNY Mellonappointed (2018)
Mentor for: modeling.smartmdsd
Steve NorthoverIBMappointed (2007)
Martin Oberhuber appointed (2007)
Mentor for: technology.rtsc
Steffen Pingel Mylyn PMC
Mentor for: mylyn.context.mft,, science.chemclipse, soa.winery
Pascal RapicaultRAPICORPappointed (2015)
Mentor for: iot.agail, iot.fog05, iot.iofog, iot.mita, iot.thingweb, technology.apogy, technology.bridgeiot, technology.sensinact, technology.sw360
Jens ReimannRed Hat, Inc.appointed (2017)
Mentor for: iot.amlen, iot.keyple, iot.oneofour, iot.packages, iot.streamsheets, iot.volttron, technology.escet, technology.packager
Torkild ResheimItema ASappointed (2017)
Mentor for: automotive.adore, science.swtchart
Denis RoyPerri INCappointed (2013)
Mentor for: iot.om2m
Max Rydahl AndersenRed Hat, Inc.Strategic Developer
Mentor for: technology.ceylon, tools.andmore
Doug Schaefer appointed (2007)
Michael Scharf appointed (2007)
Thomas SchindlBestSolutionappointed (2008)
Mentor for: technology.openk-platform
Matthias SohnSAP SEappointed (2015)
Mentor for: iot.cyclonedds, iot.tangleid, technology.dataspaceconnector, technology.steady, tools.secoblocks
Eike Stepper appointed (2012)
Mentor for: iot.4diac, modeling.elk, modeling.fmc, technology.ease, technology.osbp
Krum TsvetkovSAP SEStrategic Developer
Mentor for: technology.jifa
Julien Vermillard Iot PMC
Mentor for: iot.keti, iot.milo
Julien VietRed Hat, Inc.appointed (2018)
Gunnar Wagenknecht*, Inc.appointed (2018)
Mentor for: ecd.openvsx, iot.vorto, locationtech.sfcurve, modeling.avsys, technology.cbi, technology.furo, technology.repairnator, technology.uomo
Thomas WatsonIBMappointed (2008)
Mentor for: rt.ebr, technology.osgi, technology.osgi-technology, technology.transformer
David Williams appointed (2007)
Mentor for: technology.omr, webtools.incubator
Mike WilsonIBMappointed (2007)
Mentor for: technology.omr

* chair

Back to the top