Skip to main content

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index] [List Home]
Re: [cdt-dev] Vote for Committer status for Patrick Chuong was started by Pawel Piech

The way I read it, the committer nomination guildelines do not list any specific number of patches, dev list posts, etc., that are required for a committer nomination.  It only specifies that contributors need to earn other committers' trust.  As far as I know CDT doesn't have any written guidelines on what contributors have to do to earn commit rights and instead it has always relied on the judgment of existing committers.  Also, as long as I remember, CDT community has been relatively open and welcoming of new members and I believe that's been a big part of the project's success.  So in my judgment Patrick has met this historical standard of trust.

Patrick did not ask me to nominate him and I don't know his intentions.  I'm actually not even sure whether TI will give him permission to be a committer.  However, given that TI's product is CDT based, and that they've been involved with it for at least the last 5 years, I assume that he will continue to be involved.  Also, I've never seen anyone before asking for a statement from the nominee so your request is rather unusual, but it's up to him to answer.


On 10/05/2010 01:43 PM, Alena Laskavaia wrote:
Well you are saying you did it as a "reward"? I don't think it is
right approach.
First of all lets not involve platform into this decision, because if
you think he has enough
contributions for the platform you should have nominated him for the platform.
Does he plan to be an active committer on cdt project? If he committed
7 patches over 5 years I won't call
it active... What is he planning on contributing to cdt?
Does he actively participate in cdt dev list? (I have not even herd of
him at all before cdt summit...)
Does he ask you to nominate him or it was your idea? Can I hear from
him actually?

On Tue, Oct 5, 2010 at 4:12 PM, Pawel Piech <pawel.piech@xxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
I feel I should apologize here, because I sort of "winged" this nomination
and I didn't take the appropriate amount of time to explain my motivation to
nominate Patrick.  Unlike most committer nomination, which are made for a
colleague, I have no vested interest in this nomination.  I've simply found
that Patrick's bugs and patches have been very helpful to me and I hoped
that I could make it easier for him to continue to help out.  Also,
especially after today's call where we put Mike Wilson on the spot over
platform commit rights, I thought it would be appropriate to recognize his
contributions which have come over the last 5 years (maybe more).


On 10/05/2010 12:03 PM, portal on behalf of Pawel Piech wrote:
tools.cdt Committers,
This automatically generated message signals that Pawel Piech has
Patrick Chuong as a Committer on the tools.cdt project. The reason given
as follows:

Patrick has committed several fixes in breakpoints and disassembly views
and DSF.  He also recently helped with migrating the Breakpoints view to
flexible hierarchy in Platform, making him an expert in this area.

The vote is being held via the MyFoundation portal: voters *must* use the
portal for the votes to be properly recorded.  The voting will continue
until either all 25 existing Committers have voted or until they have been
given enough time to vote, even if they do not do so (defined as at least
one week). Patrick Chuong must receive at least three +1s and no -1s for a
successful election.

Eligible Committers must cast their votes through their My Foundation
portal page (do NOT just reply to this email; your vote will not be
correctly recorded unless you use the portal):

The project Committers eligible to vote are:

    James Blackburn
    Francois Chouinard
    John Cortell
    David Dubrow
    Emanuel Graf
    Andrew Gvozdev
    Mikhail Khodjaiants
    Marc Khouzam
    Vivian Kong
    Mike Kucera
    Elena Laskavaia
    Anton Leherbauer
    Teodor Madan
    Warren Paul
    Pawel Piech
    Sergey Prigogin
    Chris Recoskie
    Randy Rohrbach
    Ken Ryall
    Doug Schaefer
    Markus Schorn
    Ed Swartz
    L. Frank Turovich
    Ling Wang
    Ted Williams

*NOTE*: Successful elections are left open for a maximum of 60 days to
allow for processing of paperwork.  After that time the election will be
expired, regardless of its current status.  Should papework processing on
the part of the candidate take more time than allowed, a new election will
have to be held.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact your project
lead, PMC member, or the EMO<emo@xxxxxxxxxxx>

cdt-dev mailing list

cdt-dev mailing list

cdt-dev mailing list

Back to the top