|Re: [p2-dev] Question about deleting a downloaded p2 plugin|
If a plugin is deleted from disk, p2 will not download it again, nor will it check for its presence or validity.
As you guessed this is because the setup of p2 in Eclipse is taking a metadata-first approach to provisioning. What I mean here is that p2 knows from the content of the profile that the IU for the plugin is installed and it won’t question this.
There is no tool available to check the validity of an install, but it could be written as a side application.
If I delete a plugin from my plugins folder, and then go to install its parent feature again, will p2 download the plugin again? Does it check to make sure a plugin actually exists or does it just rely on its metadata? If it’s the latter is there any way to force it to check?