Skip to main content

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index] [List Home]
[jgit-dev] Vote for Committer status for Colby Ranger was started by Shawn Pearce

technology.jgit Committers,
This automatically generated message signals that Shawn Pearce has
nominated Colby Ranger as a Committer on the technology.jgit project. The
reason given is as follows:

Colby is starting to become an expert in JGit's packing code. He has
contributed a few subtle bug fixes:

  b777d77 Implement wasDeltaAttempted() in DfsObjectRepresentation.
  b77ba04 Do not delta compress objects that have already tried to
  f70ecab DfsBlockCache: Update hits to not include contains()

but more recently has created a series to optimize reachability during
packing using compressed bitmaps:

  I3f1421e9	Enable writing pack indexes with bitmaps in the GC.
  Iefa995fe	Enable serving upload requests using bitmaps.
  Icdb0cdd6	Support writing packs using bitmaps in pack index version E003.
  Id328724b	Added read/write support for pack index version E003.
  I906360b4	Break the dependency on RevObject when creating a

In this series Colby has created a clear progression to implement a complex
feature, and insert it into the existing algorithm in a very
straightforward way. The code is pretty easy to read, and the performance
improvements he offers here are significant.

The vote is being held via the MyFoundation portal: voters *must* use the
portal for the votes to be properly recorded.  The voting will continue
until either all 11 existing Committers have voted or until they have been
given enough time to vote, even if they do not do so (defined as at least
one week). Colby Ranger must receive at least three +1s and no -1s for a
successful election.

Eligible Committers must cast their votes through their My Foundation
portal page (do NOT just reply to this email; your vote will not be
correctly recorded unless you use the portal):

The project Committers eligible to vote are:

    Chris Aniszczyk
    David Borowitz
    Christian Halstrick
    Mathias Kinzler
    Stefan Lay
    Shawn Pearce
    Robin Rosenberg
    Kevin Sawicki
    Matthias Sohn
    Gunnar Wagenknecht
    Sasa Zivkov

*NOTE*: Successful elections are left open for a maximum of 120 days to
allow for processing of paperwork.  After that time the election will be
expired, regardless of its current status.  Should papework processing on
the part of the candidate take more time than allowed, a new election will
have to be held.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact your project
lead, PMC member, or the EMO <emo@xxxxxxxxxxx>

Back to the top