Skip to main content

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index] [List Home]
[aspectj-announce] Call For Papers: RV 2012

International Conference on Runtime Verification (RV 2012)

September 25 - 28, 2012

Istanbul, Turkey

at the Koc University Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations in Pera




Runtime verification is concerned with monitoring and analysis of

software and hardware system executions. Runtime verification

techniques are crucial for system correctness and reliability; they

are significantly more powerful and versatile than conventional

testing, and more practical than exhaustive formal

verification. Runtime verification can be used prior to deployment,

for verification and debugging purposes, and after deployment for

ensuring reliability, safety and security, and for providing fault

containment and recovery. Topics of interest to the conference



- specification languages and formalisms for traces

- specification mining

- program instrumentation

- monitor construction techniques

- logging, recording, and replay

- fault detection, localization, recovery and repair

- program steering and adaptation

- metrics and statistical information gathering

- combination of static and dynamic analyses

- program execution visualization



Application areas of runtime verification include safety-critical

systems ranging from enterprise and systems software, to autonomous

and reactive control systems, to health management and diagnosis

systems, to security.





The RV series of events started in 2001, as an annual workshop. The

RV'01 to RV'05 proceedings were published in ENTCS. Since 2006, the RV

proceedings have been published in LNCS. In year 2010, RV became an

international conference. Links to past RV events can be found at the

permanent URL





- Jim Larus (Principal Researcher, Microsoft Research)

- Martin Rinard (Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, MIT)

- Giovanni Vigna (Professor, Department of Computer Science, UCSB)




- Stephen N. Freund, John Erickson and Madan Musuvathi: Dynamic analysis of concurrency

- Cristian Cadar and Koushik Sen: Symbolic execution






RV will have three paper categories: regular and short papers, and tool

demonstration papers. Papers in all categories will be reviewed by the

conference Program Committee.


- Regular papers (up to 15 pages) should present original unpublished

results. Applications of runtime verification are particularly

welcome. A Best Paper Award will be offered.


- Short papers (up to 5 pages) may present novel but not necessarily

thoroughly worked out ideas, for example emerging runtime verification

techniques and applications, or techniques and applications that

establish relationships between runtime verification and other

domains. Accepted short papers will be presented in special short talk

(5-10 minutes) and poster sessions.


- Tool demonstration papers (up to 5 pages) should briefly introduce

the problem solved by the tool and give the outline of the

demonstration. A Best Tool Award will be offered.


All accepted papers, including short papers and tool papers, will appear

in the LNCS proceedings. Submitted papers must use the LNCS style. At

least one author of each accepted paper must attend RV'12 to present the

paper. Papers must be submitted electronically using the EasyChair system.

A link to the electronic submission page will be made available on the

RV'12 web page.





May 27, 2012 - Abstract submission

June 3, 2012 - Paper submission

July 29, 2012 - Author notification

August 19, 2012 - Camera-ready

September 25, 2012 - Tutorial Day

September 26-28, 2012 - Conference





General Chair:

Serdar Tasiran (Koc University, Istanbul, Turkey)


Program Chair:

Shaz Qadeer (Microsoft Research, Redmond, WA, USA)





Howard Barringer, Manchester University

Saddek Bensalem, VERIMAG

Eric Bodden, EC SPRIDE

Cristian Cadar, Imperial College

Ylies Falcone, University of Grenoble

Bernd Finkbeiner, Saarland University

Stephen Freund, Williams College

Ganesh Gopalakrishnan, University of Utah

Wolfgang Grieskamp, Google

Sylvain Halle, Universite du Quebec a Chicoutimi

Klaus Havelund, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Suresh Jagannathan, Purdue University

Sarfraz Khurshid, University of Texas at Austin

Martin Leucker, University of Luebeck

Benjamin Livshits, Microsoft

Shan Lu, University of Wisconsin

Rupak Majumdar, MPI-SWS

Oded Maler, VERIMAG

Sharad Malik, Princeton University

Atif Memon, University of Maryland

Peter Muller, ETH Zurich

Shaz Qadeer, Microsoft

Venkatesh-Prasad Ranganath, Microsoft

Vivek Sarkar, Rice University

Koushik Sen, University of California at Berkeley

Oleg Sokolsky, University of Pennsylvania

Serdar Tasiran, Koc University

Stavros Tripakis, University of California at Berkeley

Martin Vechev, ETH Zurich

Willem Visser, Stellenbosch University

Zheng Zhang, Microsoft


Back to the top