Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Runs fast inside Eclipse, slow as runnable JAR
Runs fast inside Eclipse, slow as runnable JAR [message #1008132] Sun, 10 February 2013 18:10 Go to next message
Chris Crawford is currently offline Chris CrawfordFriend
I'm a long-time, very simple-minded programmer who uses perhaps 10% of the capabilities of Eclipse; I've been using Eclipse for maybe five years now and have assiduously avoided learning anything that I don't need. I've been exporting projects to runnable JAR files for years with no problems. But I have run into a nasty little issue. I don't know if it's an Eclipse problem or a Java problem. I'm running on a Mac Pro, OS 10.7.5.

I have some big images (128w by 128h) that I'm treating as simple graphics objects rather than JButtons, for complicated reasons. I need to replicate SOME of the behavior of JButtons, including the redrawing of the image when the pseudo-button is pressed. This is handled with a very simple bit of code inside the mousePressed() method of the Mouse Listener:

int i=0; 
  boolean gotcha=false;
  while ((i<cButtons)&(!gotcha)) {
	  if (buttons[i].fEnabled) {
		  Rectangle test=new Rectangle(buttons[i].x,buttons[i].y,faceWidth,faceHeight);
		  if (test.contains(e.getX(), e.getY())) {
			  gotcha=true;
			  buttons[i].fPressed=true;
			  repaint(buttons[i].x,buttons[i].y,faceWidth,faceHeight);
		  }	
	  }
	  ++i;
  }

The value of cButtons is 16, so the loop executes a maximum of 16 times; in this test case, only seven buttons get past the first if-test. faceWidth and faceHeight are equal to 128.