Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » Problems while debugging large project
Problems while debugging large project [message #1449759] Tue, 21 October 2014 20:08 Go to next message
Fang Wang is currently offline Fang WangFriend
Hi, I have a question about debugging.

I'm trying to work on a large project and encountering a problem with debugging. The function that I would like to debug is in a separate cpp file, say a.cpp. That a.cpp is far from the source file where main() is.

That function in a.cpp is not called directly by main(). Instead, main() has to generate a GUI interface where I can call that function so that the breakpoints can be activated. I'm not sure how to do that.

I'm new to Eclipse, any advice is welcome. Thank you so much!
Re: Problems while debugging large project [message #1450483 is a reply to message #1449759] Wed, 22 October 2014 13:49 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Another problem I forgot to mention is that there is no difference between step into and step over while debugging. It won't go into each function. Is there a way to solve it? Thank you.
Re: Problems while debugging large project [message #1451147 is a reply to message #1450483] Thu, 23 October 2014 12:01 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Axel Mueller is currently offline Axel MuellerFriend
Fang Wang wrote on Wed, 22 October 2014 15:49
Another problem I forgot to mention is that there is no difference between step into and step over while debugging. It won't go into each function. Is there a way to solve it? Thank you.

If there is no debug info available stepping into will not work.

Before you ask
- search this forum
- see the FAQ http://wiki.eclipse.org/CDT/User/FAQ
- google
Re: Problems while debugging large project [message #1451458 is a reply to message #1451147] Thu, 23 October 2014 21:43 Go to previous messageGo to next message