Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » Compare » EMF Compare - Scalability problems(testing scalability, loading fragments, OOM Java heap space)
EMF Compare - Scalability problems [message #1432050] Fri, 26 September 2014 14:35 Go to next message
Márton Tunner is currently offline Márton TunnerFriend
Hi,

First of all, I am a bit confused about the version of EMF Compare I am using, so I took two screenshots (maybe you need them) which I can not share while being a newbie here... The version should be 2.1.3.(201402040808) or 3.0.2.(201402040808). Actually, it was integrated in an earlier version of Eclipse Modeling (Modeling Tools).

1.)
I was testing scalability of EMF Compare with some models. There is no real hierarchy in these models, the root element is containing other elements directly.

I have modified my reference models by deleting 20 random elements from them and an "Eclipse Product" was doing the comparison.

Without UUID:
- ~6000 elements --> Execution time: ~540s, Memory usage: ~3GB

With UUID:
- ~6000 elements --> Execution time: ~9s, Memory usage: ~160MB
- ~23000 elements --> Execution time: ~100s, Memory usage: ~1GB
- ~43000 elements --> java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space

I have changed vmargs (-Xmx6g, even -XX:MaxPermSize:1024m which would not be necessary) but it did not help. According to Windows Task Manager, this Eclipse Product is using 200-500MB RAM. I do not know why I always get OOM error. Any ideas?

2.)
Anyways, I should work with larger models (without UUID too), so I would need this kind of scalability which is mentioned on the website of EMF Compare:

"EMF Compare has been designed with scalability in mind in order to support comparisons of large fragmented models.