Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » Java Development Tools (JDT) » Accessing project subfolders/modules as separate folder(How to access a project subfolder/module as a separate folder)
icon5.gif  Accessing project subfolders/modules as separate folder [message #1386568] Wed, 18 June 2014 09:33 Go to next message
Sad Bunny is currently offline Sad BunnyFriend
Hi people,

I'm relatively new to the Eclipse environment and Java devving in general.

I did try the search function of course, but I am unsure what to search for and mainly find a large body of info on how to create layered Java projects, not just how things work in Eclipse.

I got another dev's laptop dumped on me (figuratively, luckily). In his workspace's package explorer, and on his hard drive, there's this project "A_trunk". That project has a pom.xml and a bunch of general configuration files. Also, it has 10 subfolders called "A_trunk/A_abc", "A_trunk/A_xyz" etc. that have actual full blown maven-configured java applications in them. If I check A's pom.xml, it lists "A_abc" etc. as "Modules".

Now, his package explorer also has a folder called "A_abc" as a root folder, so to speak. This seems to be some sort of a symbolic link to "A_trunk/A_abc", since when I save a test file in "/A_abc", it automatically appears in the "A_trunk/A_abc" as well, and there's no "/A_abc" directory on the filesystem containing the workspace in question.

This is pretty useful because /A_trunk is one big SVN project, but separate project folders make it easy in/for eclipse.

The question now is: how do I repeat that process for "A_trunk/A_xyz" and the other separate java applications?

Hope I'm making any sense, I don't know the jargon of what all these things are called, which makes it a b*tch to search for something this specific... :/