Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Archived » BIRT » How to dynamically control parameter visibility(How to dynamically control parameter visibility)
How to dynamically control parameter visibility [message #1162783] Wed, 30 October 2013 16:15 Go to next message
Michael Murphy is currently offline Michael MurphyFriend
Hi, I am pretty new to Birt and am still finding my way around.

I have a report where I want to ask one of two questions, depending on the value passed to the report from an application. I therefore have 3 parameters.
param1, the param I receive a value for, A or B. If the value of param1 is 'A', I want param2 to be displayed and I want param3 to be hidden. If the value of param1 is 'B', I want param2 to be hidden and I want param3 to be displayed.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Re: How to dynamically control parameter visibility [message #1163762 is a reply to message #1162783] Thu, 31 October 2013 07:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Marina Orth is currently offline Marina OrthFriend
Hello,

you could use a dynamic text and following expression:

var result="";
if (params["param_1"].value=="A") {
result = params["param_2"].value
}
else if (params["param_1"].value=="B") {
result = params["param_2"].value
}
result;

or little bit shorter:
(params["param_1"].value=="A")? params["param_2"].value : params["param_3"].value

In the second case param_3 is shown, even if param_1 is "C". In the first case would "" be shown, if param_1 is "C".

Or you take param_2 and param_3 in the same grid for example per drag and drop and use properties->visibility->hide element for specific outputs. For param_2 you write:
params["param_1"].value=="B" and for param_3 is hidden for params["param_1"].value=="A"

Greetings