Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » EMF » [cdo] which class is responsible for deleting a model element
[cdo] which class is responsible for deleting a model element [message #1097150] Thu, 29 August 2013 09:49 Go to next message
saurav singh is currently offline saurav singhFriend
I am very new to CDO. I shifted to CDO due to some drawbacks in EMF-STORE. Coming to the point i created a ecore model then generated a genmodel[cdo native] and then generated edit and editor codes. Now I created a CDO server and running a CDO client as well. I am able to add model elements and and deleting as well. Some model elements which seeks for a reference model element, we have a drop down menu which shows all the elements to set a reference. Now i also created a Junit class to access CDO. I am able to add, setting references to model from Junit class also like UI. But the problem is following-

1)let say we have two model elements A and B both have a attribute ID but A has a reference to B

A - ID , reference to B
B - ID

now if I delete B from UI ( right click on B and then delete) then this automatically setting reference field in A to null which is correct behavior.
But if I delete B from Junit class using resource.getContents().remove(B); where resource is a object of CDOResource then its creating problem. like its not setting reference to null which is causing the problem of Dangling reference. Now this is creating some serious issue like i wont be able to change the resource to some other model element neither from UI nor from Junit class.In UI its not showing any drop down option in reference field. And now i wont be able to delete A from UI or Junit class because of the dangling issue. So my question is that Which API should I use to delete a model element from Junit class which the delete from the UI might be using so that this problem of dangling reference should not happen.