Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Rich Client Platform (RCP) » Which eclipse listener should I use to add annotations to an editor
Which eclipse listener should I use to add annotations to an editor [message #1019413] Fri, 15 March 2013 16:19 Go to next message
Stave Escura is currently offline Stave EscuraFriend
I'm not sure if this is the correct forum for this question. I thought about the JFace forum, but these question seems mostly an integration question.

I am an eclipse newbie. I have a long term goal which is to add my own annotations to the java editor: a bit like FindBugs. I want my own static code analysers, and to be able to add markers/annotations to resources.

So I have read a lot of excellent documentation, and undertaken a load of tutorials. The most helpful was probably www.ibm.com/developerworks/opensource/tutorials/os-ecl-commplgin2/section9.html. A lot of the Lars Vogel documents have been useful too. I can now make TextEditors with syntax highlighters. I am however struggling with the best approach for adding annotations.

I understand roughly how to do this: the text editor has a DocumentProvider. The DocumentProvider has an AnnotationModel. It is possible to add annotations to the annotation model.

My question is "where do I put this code" specifically the code that scans the text in the editor and updates the annotation model. It seems clear that this should be in response to a listener...but which one?