Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Spatiotemporal Epidemiological Modeler (STEM) » Initializing a population
Initializing a population [message #1015822] Sun, 03 March 2013 08:57 Go to next message
Tal Nagar is currently offline Tal NagarFriend
Hi
I am quite new to STEM and wondered what is the best way to add a population model of animals. The data I have is for animals and I have the animal count per district. Using population initializer I need to enter each district seperately so it is not a good option for me. I wondered if there is a faster way to do it (using a graph maybe).
I also have an issue with converting districts names to the code names used in STEM and wondered where the conversion between name and number was kept.

any help will be appreciated.
Re: Initializing a population [message #1016852 is a reply to message #1015822] Thu, 07 March 2013 21:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Stefan Edlund is currently offline Stefan EdlundFriend
Hi Tal,

you're correct that a population initializer is not very suitable if you want to initialize animal populations for many different districts. It works but it's very tedious.

A better solution is to create a Pajek import file from your data with the population numbers. You can import this as a graph in STEM and add to your model. The documentation is here:

http://wiki.eclipse.org/Importing_a_Pajek_Graph

Hope this helps!
Re: Initializing a population [message #1017301 is a reply to message #1016852] Mon, 11 March 2013 14:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Thank you Stefan, I will try doing that.

I am working on Uganda and the division to districts in the built in stem models is not updated to the current division. Is Pajek graph the appropriate for generating a new area map? I have the langitude and longitude of each district however not the polygons.

Thank you again!