Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » UML2 » Building an GMF-based editor for an definde UML-profile(Extending UML.ecore by inheritance let several methods unimplemented? Is there a better way?)
Building an GMF-based editor for an definde UML-profile [message #1006700] Fri, 01 February 2013 13:42 Go to next message
Ricardo \\\"CaWal\\\" Cacheta Waldemarin is currently offline Ricardo \\\"CaWal\\\" Cacheta WaldemarinFriend
Hi, pals! I'm a rookie in Eclipse Modeling Framework and GMF and I'm in a project to build an ontology editor based in an UML profile. As a newcomer, I posted in the Newcomer Forum this question:

Ricardo \\\"CaWal\\\" Cacheta Waldemarin wrote on Thu, 31 January 2013 13:32
Hi! I'm trying to build an GMF-based editor for an UML profile defined in a previous work in my laboratory. The first approach I'm using to build the domain model is to extend by inheritance the elements the uml.ecore I'd found in mdt-uml2-Update-4.1.0M4.zip in an EMF project.

The genmodel is created without complains, but when I generated the model code several errors (about to 200) appears because of unimplemented methods of the UML elements (such as Association.getOwnedEnd(String,Type) and Dependency.getClient(String)).

I think that to implement each of this methods "by hand" will be a really time-consuming activity so I'm asking:
- Is there some place or resource that I can use that already have those methods implemented? (Since they are methods relative to the UML.ecore I think someone should have implemented and used they already.)
- Or, at least, is there a better way to implement this profile in a way I can use it as the *.ecore of the domain model of the GMF-based editor I'll build?

Thank you in advance. Wink