Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Eclipse Platform » MultiPageEditor and getSelection() for Actions
MultiPageEditor and getSelection() for Actions [message #997137] Thu, 03 January 2013 22:25
David Scherzinger is currently offline David ScherzingerFriend
Hi, new forum member and Eclipse Platform newbie here, so apologies if I mix up concepts or terms here. I'll try to explain what I mean as well as I can.

I'm working on a project where one ECore object has several different editors, so I've recently been tasked to condense them into one MultiPageEditor per object. One of our editors is a diagram editor, and we're building a context menu off of several Actions (really AbstractActionHandlers). However, stuffing the diagram editor into a page in a MultiPageEditor causes several of our context menu items to be disabled due to getSelection() returning null.

I've seen and successfully implemented the solution described here: http://www.eclipse.org/forums/index.php/m/325901/
by overriding getSelection() in each of the Actions defined in our code base. Unfortunately, this means I've been copy-pasting code between several files. Given that this is terrible in practice and will be impossible to do upkeep on in the future, is there a better place to override the getSelection() functionality? I think it's worth mentioning that each of our Actions extends a different AbstractAction, which I can't edit, and which makes superclassing all of our own classes impossible, unless there's something I'm missing.

Basically, I'd like to know if there is another point in the call stack where I can get a selection from a page in a MultiPageEditor instead of its containing window, because I haven't been able to find such a solution so far. Also, I'd like to do as little damage to the overall structure of our software as possible.