Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Eclipse stability(Is Eclispe a suitable developmental environment for a mass market program?)
Eclipse stability [message #988457] Fri, 30 November 2012 00:20 Go to next message
Ken Wharton is currently offline Ken WhartonFriend
We have been developing a custom application using Java and Eclipse for three years now. Our intention is to convert from a custom app to a mass market app.

We have experienced many issues which make little sense to me. I am not a programmer but reside more at the design and user interface level. I worked extensively with a 4th GL data base language for over 17 years ago back in the late 80's and 90's so my experience is based on my knowledge of this environment.

Issues: we are experiencing a lot of disfunctionality when running the programs often forced to re-start the application to get around the problem.

1) Screen design. Our programmer tells me that he uses math formulaes to design screen layouts. It takes him forever and we find that field lables etc. rarely line up exactly where they need to be. Also Eclipse does some weird things to the screen like change the font size or move a field or drop a field altogether when loading. In the old days, we could design a screen in seconds with language tools that allowed quick definition of the field, the attributes and and a click and drop capability to move fields where ever you wanted. It would only takes minutes not hours or days. Is our programmers' methodology correct or are their better and more stable ways to build screens?