Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » EGit / JGit » remote git init failed?(Trying to synchronize project on remote server)
remote git init failed? [message #901102] Thu, 09 August 2012 19:39 Go to next message
Tim Stitt is currently offline Tim StittFriend
Hi all,

I'm new to Eclipse and was trying out a tutorial on the Parallel Tools Platform given at a recent supercomputing conference. I followed the tutorial to check out a project via CVS and then tried to synchronize it on a remote server.

When I try the synchronization step I get a "remote git init failed: sh: git: command not found" (see attachment). I know that git is not installed by default on our remote cluster, so I was wondering if there was a way around this (I doubt the administrators will change their default software stack to enable git). Can I change the synchronization method to something else e.g. svn?

Thanks in advance,

Tim.
Re: remote git init failed? [message #901209 is a reply to message #901102] Fri, 10 August 2012 10:49 Go to previous messageGo to next message
R Shapiro is currently offline R ShapiroFriend
As the name suggests, the Egit plugin is specifically for Git version control in Eclipse. It's not useful (*) if your team uses some other version control system. Given that your team is using CVS version control, you should be using the CVS Eclipse plugin that's comes as part of your Eclipse installation, not EGit.

(*) As a special case you can use Git as an SVN client. But EGit/JGit doesn't support these operations directly and I wouldn't recommend using it that way unless you're already very familiar with standard Git.

Re: remote git init failed? [message #901249 is a reply to message #901209] Fri, 10 August 2012 13:39 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Tim Stitt is currently offline Tim StittFriend