Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Rich Client Platform (RCP) » E4 Switch Views
E4 Switch Views [message #898878] Sat, 28 July 2012 18:50 Go to next message
Alex W is currently offline Alex WFriend
Hi

i'm new to RCP so it will be a little bit hard to descripe my problem. Very Happy
Well i would like to switch view by pressing buttons. Each Button must show a specified View.

Actual i have in one Perspective two Views. (Hope its spelled correct. In Application.e4xmi its called "Part")
The application has two sections. The left side will show buttons as menu and the rigth side different views but only one is active an will be shown to the user. By pressing one button the corresponding view should appear in the rigth side. So the button event has to decide which view will be shown.

Hopefully i explaned it understandable.
Oh yes i will create a E4 RCP Application!

Can anyone help me?

Codesnippets or complete Projectexample will be accepted. Laughing

Kind Regards
Alex
Re: E4 Switch Views [message #898879 is a reply to message #898878] Sat, 28 July 2012 19:04 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Eclipse UserFriend
Yes in fact, they are called parts. All (most) of things in e4 are done through services and also what you want to do is done through the EPartService. To obtain the EPS you have to inject in the class which holds the buttons like this :
@Inject
privat EPartService partService;

then in your button's listener you can show (or hide) a part like this:
partService.showPart(chosenPart,PartState.VISIBLE);

to find the chosenPart you have to search it like this:
partService.findPart("this.is.the.part.id");

So pretty much all you need is the EPartService.
Re: E4 Switch Views [message #898885 is a reply to message #898879] Sat, 28 July 2012 19:40 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Sadly it works not very well.