Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » Java Development Tools (JDT) » JDT Debug Tools Help
JDT Debug Tools Help [message #894873] Tue, 10 July 2012 20:56 Go to next message
Matt R is currently offline Matt RFriend
Hi,

I'm new to eclipse plugin development/debugger development, and I'm currently working on a project with this scenario:

What I'm trying to do is I have this framework/API built on Java, and I would like to write an eclipse plugin debugger that is customized to my framework. Here is a simple example:

I have two classes, one called scope and one called variable. The scope holds a map of variables. The code is all in java, but I'm using this scope-variable relationship almost like a new language, and would like a variable debug tab that gives me a list of currently active scopes with the variables that are currently stored inside. Here is some code:
import java.util.Hashtable;

public class Scope {
    private Hashtable<String, Variable> variableList = new Hashtable<String, Variable>();

// constructor 
    public Scope(){

}

public void put(String key, Variable v){
        variableList.put(key, v);
    }

public Variable get(String key){
        return variableList.get(key);
    }

}

public class Variable {

private String value;
    private String name;

public Variable(String aName, String aValue){
        name = aName;
        value = aValue;
    }

public String getValue(){
        return value;
    }

public String getName(){
        return name;
    }

public void setValue(String aValue){
        value = aValue;
    }
}

This example is simplified; the actual scope-variable relation I am working with is more complex, such that you have a scope which is a container of something, which is a container of something...some container holds variables; basically the hierarchy is complicated and is not easily navigable with the variables view.