Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » Java Development Tools (JDT) » Interface in one project and Implementation in annother(Want to have implementation in different Jar but either get a "circular reference error" or " cannot be resolved to a type")
Interface in one project and Implementation in annother [message #893608] Wed, 04 July 2012 20:18 Go to next message
Ely Schoenfeld is currently offline Ely SchoenfeldFriend
Hello All.

(Sorry for such a long post)

I hope this hasn't been discussed recently. I couldn't find anything about it.

I'm sure I'm making some dumb error (I hope) but I've been trying for days now and can't get it working. I'm kind of new with java.

I have a simple standalone java application that needs to execute some Web Service methods provided by different companies. I thought I would define an Interface in my main application, and create separate ".jar" files with different implementations. This way, if I want to pay "Company A" services, I would implement those interfaces in a way, for sure different as those needed if I want to pay "Company B" services.

I hope this explanation is clear.

I'm not sure how to do it. I would like to put the main application and a "connection" jar in the classpath, in order to use the application. Then simply change the "connection" jar if I need to.

The problems I can see are:
a) The main class needs some "implementation" class, in order to be able to use the connection methods and process results.
b) The connection class needs to know the interface class.

Both things at the same time makes difficult to use separate projects. Right?

What I've tried is:
In the main project, I created an Interface Class like this:

package com.my.app;

public interface IApi {
	String[] ExecuteOne(String pUsername, String pPassword, String pData);

}

Then, I created a new java Project and created a class in another package: