Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Archived » EPF » Extending the EPF data model
Extending the EPF data model [message #893221] Tue, 03 July 2012 09:27 Go to next message
Thomas Pepio is currently offline Thomas PepioFriend
Hi everybody,

I'm studying EPF for business purpose, and I'm asked to see how far I can customize the static html interface that EPF produces.

What I currently understand of EPF is :
- it uses EMF to generate graphically the objects ... (method content, method plugin, configurations etc.) AND the method content objects (delivery process, practice, task etc.).

- method content is persisted as XMI files (which I believe is a standard format for UML data storage in XML format). These files are those who will be processed in order to generate the static interface.

- this interface generating process is made by JTidy. I believe every object that the EPF user can manipulate has a template which JTidy understands.

First question : is my understanding correct ?

Second question : is the model manipulated by the EPF user customizable ? Is EPF intended to let the user produce his own data model ? I see that EPF allows me to create custom categories. But if I find it too "generic", can I easily introduce a "competency" object, and make it useable in EPF like a "task", "roles" etc. ?

Third question : I searched for these template files used by JTidy, but didn't find them. Are they included in the EPF package ? Is EPF intended to let the user create it's own templates ?

By advance, thank you for the time you'll spend answering me Smile !

Have a nice day.

Re: Extending the EPF data model [message #893227 is a reply to message #893221] Tue, 03 July 2012 09:37 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Edited : mistake.

[Updated on: Tue, 03 July 2012 09:39]

Report message to a moderator