Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » M2T (model-to-text transformation) » Porting Xpand to Xtend2(How to port Xpand templates to Xtend2)
Porting Xpand to Xtend2 [message #878948] Wed, 30 May 2012 08:55 Go to next message
Andy Gotz is currently offline Andy GotzFriend
Hi,

I am an absolute newbie porting a DSL code generator project from Xpand to Xtend2. I have downloaded the Xtext distribution from itemis based on Eclipse 3.7.1. I see that the Xpand templates having an .xpt extension are not recognised by Xtext. How should I best go about porting these templates to Xtend2? Should I just rename them .xtend and then fix the errors eventually using the Xtend language features instead of the Xpand ones? Is there a porting guide I could read?

Thanks for any help you can give an absolute newbie ...

Andy
Re: Porting Xpand to Xtend2 [message #878968 is a reply to message #878948] Wed, 30 May 2012 09:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Christian Dietrich is currently offline Christian DietrichFriend
Hi,

there is no porting guide. from personal porting experience i can say:
- start with a new file foreach xpand file
- create a dispatch method for every define statements.
<<DEFINE xxx FOR YYY>>
<<ENDDEFINE>>

def dispatch xxx(YYY yyy) '''
'''

- migration might be tricky at some points but mostly it should be straigt forward
(depending on the metamodelcontributor you use)

Feels free to ask any questions.

~Christian

Twitter : @chrdietrich
Blog : https://www.dietrich-it.de
Re: Porting Xpand to Xtend2 [message #879707 is a reply to message #878948] Thu, 31 May 2012 17:20 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Karsten Thoms is currently offline Karsten ThomsFriend

Hi Andy,