Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » Java Development Tools (JDT) » God classes in JDT
God classes in JDT [message #842895] Thu, 12 April 2012 18:10 Go to next message
Zhongpeng Lin is currently offline Zhongpeng LinFriend
Not sure if this is the right place to ask the questions, give me a pointer if it is not.

I am a PhD student doing research on the evolution of large source code files. I found there are two classes in JDT with more than 10 KLOC:

codeassist/org/eclipse/jdt/internal/codeassist/CompletionEngine.java
compiler/org/eclipse/jdt/internal/compiler/parser/Parser.java

My questions are:

Do developers of JDT think these classes need refactoring? if yes, is there a plan to do that? if not, why?

Re: God classes in JDT [message #842907 is a reply to message #842895] Thu, 12 April 2012 18:20 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Stephan Herrmann is currently offline Stephan HerrmannFriend
Zhongpeng Lin wrote on Thu, 12 April 2012 20:10
I found there are two classes in JDT with more than 10 KLOC:

This class indeed causes some pain every now and then. For regular JDT/Core development it is manageable, but I also maintain a fork of the JDT/Core (for Object Teams) and there merging changes into this class did cause significant grief in the past.

I shyly suggested refactoring that class, which stalled probably because also an appropriate refactoring would be quite a challenge at this point. It would have been easier to split this way earlier in the development, I guess.

Quote:

For this class the huge size is quite natural: a long method (consumeRule) is generated by the parser generator (jikespg) and all methods called from there must be found in the same class. Size isn't causing much harm here, since methods are quite uniform, so complexity isn't too high, actually.

HTH,
Stephan