Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » ambiguous unresolved functions(In Problems view, standard function calls are flagged as problems)
ambiguous unresolved functions [message #808301] Mon, 27 February 2012 16:22 Go to next message
Uhlersoth 872325412 is currently offline Uhlersoth 872325412Friend
First, please bear in mind that I'm a natural-born Java developer, so whatever is going on here is likely entirely my fault, and likely a trivial env problem.

I'm setting up a new C++ project using CDT (Version: Indigo Service Release 1 / Build id: 20110916-0149), since I'm so fond of the Eclipse Java IDE. I have Visual Studio 2003 installed as well, though I'm attempting to avoid using its IDE. My C++ project consists of half a dozen .cpp and .h files. Some of the .cpp files include libraries such as stdio.h, windows.h, and stdlib.h.

By right clicking the project and selecting Properties, I've (1) enabled the Indexer under C/C++ General --> Indexer, (2) set the INCLUDE and LIB env variables under C/C++ Build --> Environment to point to my Visual Studio include and lib dirs, and added several directories under C/C++ General --> Paths and Symbols / Includes / C++ Source File, such as Visual Studio's Vc7\lib, Vc7\PlatformSDK\Include, and VC7\include dirs. This clears most of my initial project errors (brings me down from 300+ errors to eight).

But as mentioned, I'm still seeing several error messages under Problems when I open one of the .cpp files. Some of the messages I'm seeing are:

'remove' is ambiguous 'Candidates are:int remove(const char *)'
'rename' is ambiguous 'Candidates are:int rename(const char *, const char *)'
Function 'fileno' could not be resolved