Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » EclipseLink » org.eclipse.persistence.exceptions.ValidationException
org.eclipse.persistence.exceptions.ValidationException [message #791997] Mon, 06 February 2012 13:48 Go to next message
Slawomir Korbas is currently offline Slawomir KorbasFriend
Hello All,

I am new to Eclipse. I stuck since 3 days on strange problem. What I have done:

1. Downloaded and installed Eclipse (eclipse-jee-indigo-SR1-win32-x86_64.zip)
2. Installed GlassFish (glassfish-3.1.1-windows.exe)
3. Installed plugin for Glassfish (for Eclipse Indigio IDE)
4. Created EJB project with facets: Java,EJB,JPA 2.0
5. GlassFish target platform: "GlassFish Server Open Source(Java EE6)"
6. JPA settings - selected as Platform "EclipseLink 2.3"
7. Generated "JPA Entities form Tables"

When I am trying to deploy this application to server I receive following exception:

Exception Description: Predeployment of PersistenceUnit [MegajanServerApp] failed.
Internal Exception: Exception [EclipseLink-7333] (Eclipse Persistence Services - 2.3.0.v20110604-r9504): org.eclipse.persistence.exceptions.ValidationException
Exception Description: The reference column name [name] mapped on the element [field products] does not correspond to a valid field on the mapping reference.. Please see server.log for more details.

Here is the mapping definition generated in one of my classe:

//bi-directional many-to-many association to Product
@ManyToMany
@JoinTable(
name="job_products"
, joinColumns={
@JoinColumn(name="job_id", nullable=false)
}
, inverseJoinColumns={
@JoinColumn(name="product_name", referencedColumnName="name", nullable=false)
}
)
private List<Product> products;

In my opinion there is no problem with mapping definition but there is a bug in EclipseLink in this validation. I found no solution for this problem on the Web. What I tried: