Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » Java Development Tools (JDT) » Can't Build .java File when file is outside of project(in title described)
Can't Build .java File when file is outside of project [message #788142] Wed, 01 February 2012 11:51 Go to next message
John K is currently offline John KFriend
okay I am very new to eclipse and very much dislike it (but only way to do android dev without odd less supported netbeans addons).

I have a .java file that compiles. I want to open it and run it in eclipse and it opens and I can edit the code but when I go to build it asks Ant Build or Ant Build Default to execute and then nothing happens.

Note, this file is outside of my Projects folder. When I load a simple hello world that is in the src of a projects folder it runs okay.

If this program is so sophisticated it should be able to run a .java file that is not listed in my projects. I hate this program right now. I prefer geany. If there were a way to do android dev from geany I would.
Re: Can't Build .java File when file is outside of project [message #788154 is a reply to message #788142] Wed, 01 February 2012 12:12 Go to previous messageGo to next message
I'll elaborate why this is a huge problem. I occasionally tinker with java and android dev (and then do something else for a few weeks or months) and often shift around files or am on a new reinstall of eclipse and eventually I end up having 5-6 or more "project folders" all with just a few files in them and they should all be in one.

So I need to be able to load source code files from any folder (I don't think i'll continue using the program if eclipse is incapable of doing that) ideally without moving or loading them into some other folder.