Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » Graphiti » Using meta-model ereferences for connections(How do I associate a model erefence with a connection)
Using meta-model ereferences for connections [message #778218] Wed, 11 January 2012 18:33 Go to next message
Josef Pohl is currently offline Josef PohlFriend
Hi there,

Sorry, I am rather new at this and am digging my way through the tutorial and perhaps I have not gotten to the pertinent information yet.

The problem I am trying to solve is as follows: I have an ecore meta-model which has a set of EClasses (Goal, Strategy, and so on). Each EClass contains one or more EReferences (subgoals, goalstrategies, strategygoals, etc). Some are self-referential (relating a Goal to a different Goal) and some are heterogeneous (Goal to Strategy, Strategy to Goal).

What I would like to do is to relate the actual EReference type (subgoals, goalstrategies,...) to a connection feature. The tutorial makes reference to simply an EReference. But it does not seem to use a distinct instance related to an EClass.

Is there a way to access the actual EReferences in my meta-model for a particular EClass and then create a "domain object" that is related to this reference and hence the given instance of the class (as represented by a shape feature)?

Sorry again if I am missing something obvious and I would be more than willing to clarify my issue if needed.

Thanks in advance,
Josef
Re: Using meta-model ereferences for connections [message #778388 is a reply to message #778218] Thu, 12 January 2012 17:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Hi there,
So I decided to create an explicit EClass in my model to create the connections. However now I have run into the issue that the connections are not being added to the palette.