Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Archived » EGL Development Tools » Extension Point Modeling Framework(A component or plugin that I think would really save a lot of time building extension points)
Extension Point Modeling Framework [message #772521] Fri, 30 December 2011 00:59 Go to next message
Duncan Krebs is currently offline Duncan KrebsFriend

Hi,
I've been developing in eclipse for some time and a few years ago I wrote a component that if you know of the apache commons digester component you write a set of rules based on xml schema for object instantiation property setting and setter calling (like a stack and when this <person> element is reached created a Person object, set properties like name and on </Person> pop it from the stack and call addPerson to the parent object.

So using that approach for all the extension points I have I write a set of rules based on the extension point xsd so that I then have a ExtensionRegistry with all POJO objects that model the extension points which is a lot easier than going through the hard to use and tedious extension API. I also have a special rule that will set the contributor plugin so I know what bundle contributed a specific extension.