Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » TMF (Xtext) » Problems with generated grammar from existing ecore model
Problems with generated grammar from existing ecore model [message #759881] Wed, 30 November 2011 13:22 Go to next message
Anders Forsell is currently offline Anders ForsellFriend
I am new to Xtext and interested in using it for an existing ecore model as a textual editor. As explained in the blog entry http://blog.efftinge.de/2009/11/xtext-using-existing-ecore-models.html this should be possible. Also, I found it very interesting to let the user decide whether to use the textual or standard generated EMF editor.

Using Xtext version (2.0.1) I used the "Xtext Project From Existing Ecore Models" project wizard and pointed to the EMF library.genmodel.

After generating the textual editor I tried opening the file with the EMF reflective editor and added an author, a book and then saved. The serialized textual version looked ok.

After setting the book relation from the author in the EMF reflective editor and then saving I got the below exception.

Is this a bug in the generated grammar?

I got another problem using the grammar in Sven's blog entry when trying to save a change from the EMF reflective editor.

Regards,

Anders Forsell

---

org.eclipse.xtext.parsetree.reconstr.XtextSerializationException: Could not serialize cross reference from Library'MyLibrary'.writers[0]->Writer'Author1'.books to Library'MyLibrary'.books[0]->Book
at org.eclipse.xtext.parsetree.reconstr.impl.AbstractParseTreeConstructor$AssignmentToken.serializeInternal(AbstractParseTreeConstructor.java:258)
at org.eclipse.xtext.parsetree.reconstr.impl.AbstractParseTreeConstructor$AbstractToken.serialize(AbstractParseTreeConstructor.java:159)
at org.eclipse.xtext.parsetree.reconstr.impl.AbstractParseTreeConstructor.write(AbstractParseTreeConstructor.java:772)