Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » AspectJ » Can't get javax.swing.* and java.awt.* to weave
Can't get javax.swing.* and java.awt.* to weave [message #689438] Mon, 27 June 2011 16:34 Go to next message
Steve Cohen is currently offline Steve CohenFriend
I am a newbie to AOP, AspectJ, and AJDT.

I am trying to set up a debug time usage of AOP to help our team debug a complicated and somewhat odd Swing application that does a lot of strange keyboard remapping, since it needs to emulate and existing application.

To determine why some things don't work, I need to know which class is handling a given keystroke.

My pattern is to wrap the existing Swing project in an AspectJ project (putting the Swing project on the AspectJ project's Build Path), and defining an aspect that pointcuts at the appropriate places. The aspect is as follows:

package com.whatever.gui.aop;

import java.awt.event.ActionEvent;
import java.awt.event.ActionListener;
import java.awt.event.KeyEvent;

import javax.swing.Action;
import javax.swing.JComponent;
import javax.swing.KeyStroke;

import com.whatever.gui.Login;
import com.whatever.gui.kbd.KeyRemapper;

aspect CapLogger {

pointcut logActionSearch(JComponent jc, KeyStroke ks) 
		: target (jc)
		&& args(ks)
		&& execution( protected * JComponent+.processKeyBinding(KeyStroke, KeyEvent,
		int, boolean));

before(JComponent jc, KeyStroke ks) : logActionSearch(jc, ks) {
		Class klass = jc.getClass();
		System.out.println(String.format("Searching for handler for %s in %s",
				ks, klass));
	}
	pointcut logAction(ActionListener a, ActionEvent e) 
		: target(a)
		&& args(e)
		&& execution(* actionPerformed(ActionEvent));

after(ActionListener a, ActionEvent e) : logAction(a, e) {
		Object source = e.getSource();
		Class klass = source.getClass();
		if (a instanceof Action) {