Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » Java Development Tools (JDT) » jdbc generic connection code?(how to connect to a data object using jdbc in a file open dialog)
jdbc generic connection code? [message #688551] Fri, 24 June 2011 22:23 Go to next message
Gary Dale is currently offline Gary DaleFriend
I'm presumably not the first to try this. I want to open a file using a jdbc connection so that no matter what type of file I'm opening (Access, dBASE, Excel, ods, odb, etc.) I can use normal SQL database commands to handle it. As I understand it, that's the point behind odbc & jdbc.

I've found some example code (I'm new to Java & Eclipse) for a MySql connection that I've modified slightly as best I can to handle this:

public Connection dbConnector(File f) {
try {
Connection con = DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:odbc:" + f);
return con;
} catch ( SQLException err ) {
System.out.println( err.getMessage( ) );
return null;
}
}

This of course doesn't work. The error message is:
No suitable driver found for jdbc:odbc:/path/to/file/sample.xls
where /path/to/file/sample.xls are the full path in the real message.

I'm using Eclipse 3.5.2 on Debian/Wheezey.

Can someone point me in the right direction for at least getting a connection to an Excel spreadsheet?

TIA!
(no subject) [message #689349 is a reply to message #688551] Mon, 27 June 2011 13:40 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Eclipse UserFriend
Originally posted by: Rich Kulp

Hi,

There is no such thing as a generic JDBC driver implementation that can
talk to anything. JDBC provides a common interface of the programming
side but you still specific JDBC drivers for each and every kind of
datasource you want to access.

As for JDBC drivers for Excel, I don't know anything about that. I only
access databases.

--
Thanks,
Rich Kulp