Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Checking Out Project(how to svn check out a project into eclipse)
Checking Out Project [message #671998] Thu, 19 May 2011 14:34 Go to next message
BYL  is currently offline BYL Friend
Hi,

I'm new to programming, and to the eclipse environment. Maybe someone can help me get set up.

My goal is to use svn to check out the files of the website I am working on, properly into an eclipse project.

I have downloaded eclipse-java-helios-SR1-win32-x86_64 and installed it on my computer. I also have Subclipse installed. But when I check out my folders, all direct child folders within the repository I'm checking out from, become "project"s in themselves!

1. Shouldn't all the folders of the website be in one project? How do I get this set up properly?

2. Right now, the files are all in regular eclipse "projects". Should they be Dynamic Web Projects instead? Many of these pages are dynamic web pages, like JSP.

I'd appreciate any advice or pointers in the right direction, thank you,

BYL
Re: Checking Out Project [message #672032 is a reply to message #671998] Thu, 19 May 2011 15:25 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Russell Bateman is currently offline Russell BatemanFriend

On 19-May-11 08:34, BYL wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I'm new to programming, and to the eclipse environment. Maybe someone
> can help me get set up.
>
> My goal is to use svn to check out the files of the website I am working
> on, properly into an eclipse project.
> I have downloaded eclipse-java-helios-SR1-win32-x86_64 and installed it
> on my computer. I also have Subclipse installed. But when I check out my
> folders, all direct child folders within the repository I'm checking out
> from, become "project"s in themselves!
>
> 1. Shouldn't all the folders of the website be in one project? How do I
> get this set up properly?
>