Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » Java Development Tools (JDT) » Can't Create Executable JAR
Can't Create Executable JAR [message #655587] Mon, 21 February 2011 20:04 Go to next message
No real name is currently offline No real nameFriend
Hi, I'm new to Eclipse using the AspectJ plugin. I'm running the Eclipse IDE for Java Developers, build # 20100917-0705 with Helios Service Release 1.

In NetBeans 6.9.1, to create an executable I select "clean and build". Fairly straight forward. I've gone through some of the FAQ's (there are a lot) and chose to export it to a "Runnable JAR file".

Within the Workbench, the program I wrote to test everything out (Java and Aspect) works well; however, when I try to export it to a "Runnable JAR file", my program is not listed in the "Launch Configuration". So I'm obviously doing something wrong or missing some steps.

Can someone help me with making a program executable without Eclipse?

In advance - THANK YOU!

N. Harrington
Re: Can't Create Executable JAR [message #655987 is a reply to message #655587] Wed, 23 February 2011 16:33 Go to previous messageGo to next message
No real name is currently offline No real nameFriend
Nobody, out of all the developers who have viewed this request, knows how to create an executable file in Eclipse? Shocked

Come on folks, if you think I'm just stupid and anyone should know how to do this - fine. Tell me but then, please, tell me what I'm doing wrong or what I should be doing. Seriously, it shouldn't take that long. I'm on a deadline and have tried to create an executable JAR and am not succeeding. I've tried to "export" my current launch configuration then import it (no problem there) and still I'm stuck as exporting to a runnable JAR doesn't see it.