Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » UML2 » How do you specify a Type when calling Parameter.setType(Type)?(I am attempting to programmatically create an operation on an interface in my model. I have been successful adding the operation to the interface, and adding parameters to the operation, but I am hav)
How do you specify a Type when calling Parameter.setType(Type)? [message #652428] Thu, 03 February 2011 20:54 Go to next message
Ian Goodsell is currently offline Ian GoodsellFriend
I am attempting to programmatically create an operation on an interface in my model. I have been successful adding the operation to the interface, and adding parameters to the operation, but I am having difficulty setting the parameter type. I am kind of new at this, so please forgive me if I am missing something basic.

For example, the operation I was trying to create on the interface has the signature:

bool recordExists( int recordId );

I was hoping to be able to do something like this (using a Package in a model named 'aPackage'):

// add an interface to the package
Interface iRecordManager = (Interface)aPackage.createOwnedInterface("recordManager");

// add an operation to the interface
Operation recordExists = (Operation)iRecordManager.createOwnedOperation("recordExists ", null, null, null);

Now I would like to add the parameter and the return value to the operation, doing something like this:

Parameter param = (Parameter)recordExists.createOwnedParameter("recordId", null);
param.setVisibility(VisibilityKind.PRIVATE_LITERAL);
param.setType(null);
Parameter retParam = (Parameter)recordExists.createReturnResult("ret", null);

How do I specify the type to param.setType(Type) and recordExists.createReturnResult(String, Type)? I've done a lot of searching on how to do this, but I haven't been able to find anything.

Hope someone could point me in the right direction.

Thanks, all --

Ian