Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » build problem(ld: unknown option: -o)
build problem [message #637607] Sun, 07 November 2010 18:50 Go to next message
Phani Srikar is currently offline Phani SrikarFriend
Hi,
I am kind of new at using Eclipse CDT4 on Mac, I am trying to compile and run a simple piece of C++ code on it, everything seems fine but I am constantly getting some error during the build process.

The error is in the following form:

ld: unknown option: -oCPP

where CPP is the project name. I know for sure that this problem is due to the loss of space between -o and CPP, but I am not able to find any option wherein I can edit it.

Can someone please help me out with this issue.

Thanks!
Phani Srikar Ganti
Re: build problem [message #637766 is a reply to message #637607] Mon, 08 November 2010 18:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
David Bo Jensen is currently offline David Bo JensenFriend
Is it a make file project?
Do you have a file "Makefile" in the root of your project directory?
If so please paste us the contents (If it isn't too long)
Re: build problem [message #638349 is a reply to message #637607] Wed, 10 November 2010 23:01 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Hello David,
Thanks for getting back to the post. Its not a makefile project. I've simply written two files one .cpp and other .h file. Whenever I try to build the project containing these two files it gives me a build error.

As a matter of fact, the files are working fine, I checked it by running them in terminal, its only that I want to get used to the Eclipse IDE environment, but I am basically not able to find the option where I can edit the format for compiling the code i.e give space between -o and the name. I am pretty much sure that it is the mistake.

Let me know if you have any idea of where I can edit these properties.

Thanks!
Phani Srikar Ganti