Skip to main content


Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Technology Project and PMC » Using Eclipse for a non-IDE application
Using Eclipse for a non-IDE application [message #592041] Tue, 25 March 2003 17:09
Eclipse UserFriend
Originally posted by: cm.fast.no

eclipse.technology group,

I'm evaluating using Eclipse for a non-IDE client application. The
application will provide a set of task-oriented user-interfaces for
managing some server software, but it needs to be extensible as new
functionality is deployed on the server-side. The tasks are quite
independent and the application could resemble a Microsoft Outlook
type application in it's simplest from.

Eclipse seems very attractive for several reasons, including it's
plug-in framework, brandability, cross-platform support, native system
look & feel, etc. To learn more about how Eclipse would suit my
needs, I decided on making a simple "Hello World" plug-in and try to
remove all traces of Eclipse being used as an IDE.

Writing the "Hello World" plug-in and deploying it was easy (I used
the tutorial in the documentation), but I'm having some difficulty
removing all traces of Eclipse being an IDE. I've tried to reduce the
set of plugins to a minumum and my current set is as follows (I'm
using using Eclipse RC2 on Windows):

Apache Lucene (org.apache.lucene)
Core Boot (org.eclipse.core.boot)
Core Resource Management (org.eclipse.core.resources)
Core Runtime (org.eclipse.core.runtime)
Default Text Editor (org.eclipse.ui.editors)
Eclipse Platform (org.eclipse.platform)
Eclipse UI (org.eclipse.ui)
Help Application Server (org.eclipse.helt.appserver)
Help System Core (org.eclipse.help)
Install/Update Core (org.eclipse.update.core)
JFace (org.eclipse.jface)
JFace Text (org.eclipse.jface.text)
Standard Widget Toolkit (org.eclipse.swt)
Text (org.eclipse.text)
Text Editor Framework (org.eclipse.ui.workbench.texteditor)
Views (org.eclipse.ui.views)
Workbench (org.eclipse.ui..workbench)
Xerces Based XML Parser (org.apache.xerces)
Eclipse Hello World Excample (foo.bar.helloworld)

In particular, I'm having problems removing the Project menu and the
File -> New -> Project and File -> Import / Export entries. I've
tried Windows -> Customize Perspective... to remove the latter entries
from the File menu, but they don't seem to go away. Anyone know why?

In general, any feedback, information or starting points on stripping
down Eclipse and using it for a non-IDE applications is very much
appreciated. If you don't think it's suiteable for non-IDE
applications (yet?), that would be very valuable, too.

Thanks in advance and for your time.


Christian
Previous Topic:How to set JVM arguments for eclipse IDE
Next Topic:<Strg>+<Space> doesn't work
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Sun Apr 21 20:55:33 GMT 2024

Powered by FUDForum. Page generated in 0.03064 seconds
.:: Contact :: Home ::.

Powered by: FUDforum 3.0.2.
Copyright ©2001-2010 FUDforum Bulletin Board Software

Back to the top