Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » EGit / JGit » Can not wrap mind around proper workflow with EGIT to collab on remote GIT servers...
Can not wrap mind around proper workflow with EGIT to collab on remote GIT servers... [message #582429] Fri, 30 July 2010 01:42
Anthony  is currently offline Anthony Friend
Hello,

I am quite new to GIT and using EGIT on the Aptana Standalone platform. I finally got my GIT server up and finally got it properly configured so I can push and pull from EGIT.

I have been working on how to set this up for weeks, and although I keep getting close to my goal, I keep getting road blocks. I believe I am at my last roadblock if I could only understand how to properly use EGIT with my remote GIT repository with my partner.

It is just impossible for us to both work on the same repository/branch while remaining synced with eachothers pushed modifications.

------
Notes: The remote repository is bare

1. I am working via GIT+SSH from within EGIT

2. Computer A and Computer B use the same SSH account because it is a CPANEL host.

3. I manually set the username and email within the local GIT repository using the properties view in EGIT. Commits get properly pushed with the user that submitted it.

4. At the moment the project only has 2 developers, me and someone else. We both work from different computers and networks, so we are trying to utilize GIT on the remote server.

5. At first I tried creating a local branch from the local MASTER branch that was cloned from the repository, but I easily came across issues when trying to merge the secondary branch back into the Master Branch.

6. Projects are simple projects which need occasional bug fixes, so on the remote GIT we only have 1 branch which is the MASTER.

---------
Basically,

I. First person Scenario:
A. I clone the remote repository using EGIT