Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » TMF (Xtext) » Narrowing content assist choices(XTetxt : Filter proposed choices)
icon3.gif  Narrowing content assist choices [message #558169] Fri, 10 September 2010 12:00 Go to next message
Jerome is currently offline JeromeFriend
Hello,

I am new to XText and I'd like to do a sort of Ctrl+Space choice filtering with that (very nice Razz ) plugin. Until now, I haven't found a way to make it.
Let's keep it simple and take an example. I want to use Xtext in order to provide content assist with this kind of text:

Classroom B442 has students:
Annie present
Bob missing
Zoe present

{Bob, Job, Annie} are possible choices and {absent, present} are their possible state.
Until now it's okay, we found our way and managed to write the xtext grammar, scope provider...etc.
But I want to narrow the choices proposed by Ctrl+Space when encountering a student.
In the classroom example, we could decide to fill the presence sheet alphabetically and have all the students listed. When doing Ctrl-space for the Nth student choice, I want content assist to propose only the Nth. That way, after Annie, the only viable (and possible) choice is Bob.

So my grammar looks like that:
InputClassroom:
	'Classroom ' classroomName=[ClassroomDefinition] ' has students : '
	(students+=InputStudent)*
InputStudent:
	chosenStudent=[StudentDefinition] state

enum state:
	' present ' | ' missing '

ClassroomDefinition:
	'Classroom ' classRoomName=ID
	(classroomStudents+= StudentDefinition)*

StudentDefinition:
	'Student ' studentName=ID

And the database looks like:

Classroom B442
	Annie
	Bob
	Zoe

Student Annie
Student Bob
Student Zoe

In order to narrow the choices, I modified the scope provider that way:

public IScope scope_ InputStudent _ chosenStudent (InputStudent inputStudent, EReference ref) {