Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » CDT + JDT?
CDT + JDT? [message #556581] Wed, 01 September 2010 21:50 Go to next message
Matt Matoran is currently offline Matt MatoranFriend
Hey everyone,

I'm a new developer and I recently stumbled upon Eclipse. The program is working great, but I have recently found that I need both the Eclipse CDT (C/C++) and Eclipse JDT (Java) at lot. I was wondering if there was a way to put the CDT and JDT together in one Eclipse program rather than having each in a separate Eclipse program.

In case that was a bit confusing, an example of what I would like to do is the following: When I click "New->Project" I would like to choose to create a C, C++, or Java project rather than having to open up Eclipse CDT to create C/C++ programs and Eclipse JDT to create Java programs.

Thanks,
Re: CDT + JDT? [message #557136 is a reply to message #556581] Sat, 04 September 2010 23:03 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Francisco Puga is currently offline Francisco PugaFriend
I think that you can install one of the "pre-builded" IDEs for example Eclipse for Java Developers and then go to Help -> Install new software and insert the repositorie url of the other project.

The update url for cdt is http://download.eclipse.org/tools/cdt/releases/helios
Re: CDT + JDT? [message #557138 is a reply to message #557136] Sun, 05 September 2010 00:19 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Matt Matoran is currently offline Matt MatoranFriend
Francisco Puga wrote on Sat, 04 September 2010 19:03
I think that you can install one of the "pre-builded" IDEs for example Eclipse for Java Developers and then go to Help -> Install new software and insert the repositorie url of the other project.

The update url for cdt is http://download.eclipse.org/tools/cdt/releases/helios

Thank you for the help! I was able to get it working!