Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Remote Application Platform (RAP) » Howto access backend services from RAP application?(Which is the "pattern" to follow in order to use backend services from RAP?)
Howto access backend services from RAP application? [message #553936] Thu, 19 August 2010 13:27 Go to next message
Patrick is currently offline PatrickFriend
Hi All,

I'm new to eclipse/rap development and I some (maybe silly) questions that I would ask to this community of experts.

I'm able to access a backend JEE application deployed on WebSphere from an OSGi bundle. Using the declarative services (DS) approach, I have exposed a IBackendService, whose EJB implementation performs the necessary JNDI lookup and returns a reference to the remote interface of the backend bean. The IBakendService is consumed by another OSGi bundle again using DS and everithing works fine.

Which is the best/only way to access the IBackendService from a RAP application? where and when should it be registered? For instance, if there is a view that must show a list of items returned by the backend service, how can I get reference to the backend service (through the OSGi bundle that provides the IBackendService) and obtain the items to feed the table?

Thanks a lot for your help and suggestions

Patrick
Re: Howto access backend services from RAP application? [message #553939 is a reply to message #553936] Thu, 19 August 2010 13:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Ashwani Kr Sharma is currently offline Ashwani Kr SharmaFriend

Hi,

This FAQ describes how to use EJBs in RAP application:
http://wiki.eclipse.org/RAP/FAQ#How_do_I_make_remote_calls_t o_EJB.27s_deployed_on_Jboss_4.x_AS

Regards,
Ashwani Kr Sharma
Re: Howto access backend services from RAP application? [message #553943 is a reply to message #553939] Thu, 19 August 2010 13:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message