Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Remote Application Platform (RAP) » How to work with RAP in 2023 ?(I need explanations on how to develop and publish RAP applications)
How to work with RAP in 2023 ? [message #1856900] Sun, 08 January 2023 15:36 Go to next message
Jean Rebillat is currently offline Jean RebillatFriend
Hi !
I was a developer in an aerospace company in France.
I apologize for my simple and silly question, hoping you will forgive me :

Since a few years, I occasionnaly tried to work with RAP with Eclipse and Tomcat, as I have done in the company I worked in.

I have a site idea and want to tyry doing it in RAP, but I am stuck and can't find any real help documentation on how to start a new project and deploy it with today's material.
When working, most of the work was realized through the RAP Tools, that is not anymore available in the Eclipse repositories for the latest Eclipse versions.

Can anyone give me a link on a tutorial page for Eclipe 2022-12 and the last RAP version (or nearly the last...) ?

Once more, I apologize...
Re: How to work with RAP in 2023 ? [message #1856905 is a reply to message #1856900] Sun, 08 January 2023 19:37 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Benjamin Wolff is currently offline Benjamin WolffFriend
Hi Jean,

out of curiosity, do you need to rely on the workbench and/or OSGi in your project? There is the possibility to only use RWT and JFace as the UI framework in "standalone mode". I'm actively maintaining and developing a fairly complex web app running RWT/JFace as the UI on Spring Boot 2.7, Java 17 and Gradle, with all the bliss that comes along with this tech stack. However, the downside is that you won't be able to use the Eclipse workbench or OSGi, which is probably why you would use RAP in the first place.