Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » EGit / JGit » Exit from Eclipse Git(Eclipse Java GIT)
Exit from Eclipse Git [message #1856890] Sat, 07 January 2023 13:35 Go to next message
Christopher V. Kimball is currently offline Christopher V. KimballFriend
I'd like to get out of GIT on Eclipse.

How do I move Eclipse Projects out of GIT and back into the original Eclipse Workspace?

I'm an absolute novice at both GIT and Eclipse GIT.

Thanks,

Chris Kimball
Re: Exit from Eclipse Git [message #1856891 is a reply to message #1856890] Sat, 07 January 2023 15:05 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Ed Merks is currently offline Ed MerksFriend
Take note of where your git folder is located on your machine. Delete all the "Git" projects from your workspace WITHOUT deleting them from the file system, do don't check that box. Now use File -> Import -> Existing Projects into Workspace. Locate the git folder from before. The projects should be selected. Take note of the checkbox available. Use the "Copy projects into workspace" to copy the projects from the git clone into the workspace folder.

Ed Merks
Professional Support: https://www.macromodeling.com/
Re: Exit from Eclipse Git [message #1856892 is a reply to message #1856891] Sat, 07 January 2023 18:13 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Suppose I'm in Eclipse and looking a project registered in Git. On the file system the project is in the .git working directory. It's not in the usual workspace directory.

How do I "delete a Git project"? That is, remove it from Git and get a chance to leave it on disk? I don't know the command.

Thanks for you assistance!

Chris
Re: Exit from Eclipse Git [message #1856893 is a reply to message #1856892] Sat, 07 January 2023 18:25 Go to previous messageGo to next message
David M. Karr is currently offline David M. KarrFriend