Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » EMF » Proper way to store and save EObjects(Design)
Proper way to store and save EObjects [message #1855300] Thu, 06 October 2022 17:38 Go to next message
Frank Conover is currently offline Frank ConoverFriend
Hello, I am just getting started with EMF for the use of saving SysML from a standalone desktop application. I have created a test class where I manually populate a model. I added Class objects, Associations, Properties, etc from the samples I found.
I figured out how to manipulate the XMIResourse to produce the XMI format I expect.

My question is, where do I store EObjects so that I can easily use them when saving?

For example, I create a model and I add a few owned classes to it representing my blocks. I then create Block (EObject) where the base classes are set to the Classes I made.
Model model = SysMLResource.createSysMLModel(resourceSet);
Class owningAgregationBlockClass1 = model.createOwnedClass("Block1", false);
Block owningAgregationBlock1 = (Block)stereotypeApplicationHelper.applyStereotype(owningAgregationBlockClass1, BlocksPackage.eINSTANCE.getBlock(), null);

When I save my resource, I can simple add the model. But then I have to add each Block separately? Is there a different way to do this? Or do I have to maintain my own list of EObjects? Or add them to the resource as I go?
xmiResourceImpl.getContents().addAll(model.eContents()); // or xmiResourceImpl.getContents().add(model);
xmiResourceImpl.getContents().add(owningAgregationBlock1);
xmiResourceImpl.getContents().add(owningAgregationBlock2);

[Updated on: Thu, 06 October 2022 18:36]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Proper way to store and save EObjects [message #1855301 is a reply to message #1855300] Thu, 06 October 2022 18:56 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Christian Damus is currently offline Christian DamusFriend

Hi, Frank,