Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » Papyrus » SysML model instantiation doubt(Is it possible to instantiate SysML models in Papyrus?)
SysML model instantiation doubt [message #1853320] Mon, 27 June 2022 18:03 Go to next message
Sergio Benavent is currently offline Sergio BenaventFriend
Hello everyone,

I have little experience using SysML inPapyrus, and have run into a problem. I am working with Papyrus 2020-03 (4.15), modeling a basic manufacturing system with SysML1.4. I have defined all the constructions (elements, relations, etc.) and I have created several diagrams. Now I would like to instantiate this model to assign specific values to the attributes, parameters, etc., and run an analysis of the instantiated objects. I can't find the way to do that, so here are my questions:

Can someone confirm if it can be done? Does SysML allow instantiation of a model? Does Papyrus support it or should I use other tools? If it is not possible, can I define an executable analysis or simulation model based on my SysML model? Any other proposal?

To better understand my doubt, I have found a video showing something similar to what I want, but this example has been developed in Cameo:
"www.youtube.com/watch?v=uLaKUOlgDjU"

Any guidance on this topic would be of great help to me.
Thank you!

Sergio Benavent
Re: SysML model instantiation doubt [message #1853342 is a reply to message #1853320] Tue, 28 June 2022 14:21 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Carsten Pitz is currently offline Carsten PitzFriend
Hi Sergio,

according to my discussions with Tim Weilkiens on SysML all SysML does not distingish between classifiers and instances, consequently all SysML elements are instances. That story aside, I come from UML and distinguish between classifiers and instances.