Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » getchar() not working according to the code(getchar() not working according to the code)
getchar() not working according to the code [message #1853151] Mon, 20 June 2022 16:37 Go to next message
C Lehar is currently offline C LeharFriend
I am new to C language. I'm learning scanf() and getchar() statements but always have trouble while exceuting them. getchar() is not taking input as per the flow of the code, instead first the character input is taken and then rest of the code follows. For example: The code is:
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <stdint.h>

int main(void) {
char c = 'A';
printf("%c\n",c);
printf("%d\n",c);
printf("%0x\n",c);

printf("Input a character\n");
c = getchar();
printf("You entered %c\n",c);

return EXIT_SUCCESS;
}
But the output first takes a character input and the rest of it executed, If my char input is h, the output is :
h
A
Input a character
You entered h.

I was having similar problems with scanf(), but using fflush(stdout), after scanf() statement worked. Here fflush is not working and I am not able to figure out. Please help.
Re: getchar() not working according to the code [message #1853171 is a reply to message #1853151] Tue, 21 June 2022 16:16 Go to previous messageGo to next message
tepalia02 02 is currently offline tepalia02 02Friend
Have you tried changing the variable's name? I mean you have written:
char c = 'A';

and again written the same variable
c = getchar();

Both are the same variables. Have you tried with a different name in any of these two lines?
Re: getchar() not working according to the code [message #1853196 is a reply to message #1853171] Wed, 22 June 2022 13:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
C Lehar is currently offline C LeharFriend
Yes, changing the variable name also gives the same results as before.