Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » Papyrus » Question about SysML parameters and EMF(Errors and visual notation)
Question about SysML parameters and EMF [message #1847234] Wed, 20 October 2021 12:27 Go to next message
Rod Naugler is currently offline Rod NauglerFriend
Hi all,
I am relatively new to SysML and Papyrus. I am trying to use Papyrus to replicate a UAF model from Cameo so that I can work on the model.
I am currently rebuilding an activity tree. Within an activity, there are parameters (in and out) as well as activity parameters which refer to the parameter. I have two activities which have parameters and activity parameters which have the same names. In the second instance, 4 of 6 parameters have a green + sign in their icon. 1 parameter appears normal, and 1 parameter has a red x. In the model validation tab for the parameter with the red x, the description is "A Parameter with invalid text string is found" and the type is EMF problem. The Parameter name is 'mission plan'.
What I don't understand is why this particular Parameter has an error while the others do not. Are there protected words for the name?
If I delete the Parameter and recreate it as missionplan, it accepts it. Then, if I edit the Parameter to add the space, it remains without an error.

Are there some rules I am unaware of?

What do the green + signs mean?

Thanks!
Re: Question about SysML parameters and EMF [message #1847268 is a reply to message #1847234] Thu, 21 October 2021 14:12 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Carsten Pitz is currently offline Carsten PitzFriend
Hi Rod,

yeah, Papyrus is more catholic than the pope, while Cameo is much more permissive.
Papyrus checks (almost) every rule defined in SysML and UML, the base of SysML.

For example according to the UML specification a activity parameter node shall have exactly one parameter. Papyrus checks this rule, Cameo does not.