Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » TMF (Xtext) » How to export custom hovers as plug in ?
How to export custom hovers as plug in ? [message #1841890] Wed, 02 June 2021 12:38 Go to next message
Ryana Karaki is currently offline Ryana KarakiFriend
Hello,

I am new to Xtext & DSL writing. I am trying to implement a debugger as an Eclipse plug in, that needs to be DSL independant. I am working on Gemoc Studio.

I would like to add custom hovers to my debugger. Following tutorials, I saw that for a 'local application', our custom hover class that extends DefaultEObjectHoverProvider needs to be binded in the language's Module like this :

public class MyDslUiModule extends AbstractMyDslUiModule {
        public MyDslUiModule(AbstractUIPlugin plugin) {
		super(plugin);
	}
	public Class<? extends IEObjectHoverProvider> bindIEObjectHoverProvider() {
		return MyDslEObjectHoverProvider.class;
	}
}

However, I want to avoid touching the DSL's code, and want my Hover plug in to be automatically used. Is there another way to tell the DSL that it should use the plug in's custom hover ? Can I do it from the IEngineAddon ?

I hope I was clear enough,

Thanks in advance

[Updated on: Wed, 02 June 2021 12:54]

Report message to a moderator

Re: How to export custom hovers as plug in ? [message #1841897 is a reply to message #1841890] Wed, 02 June 2021 13:28 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Christian Dietrich is currently offline Christian DietrichFriend
i dont know if this is possible without changing or patching the dsl. maybe you can smuggle a hover in somehow but i have doubts its a good idea or if you manage to call this early enhough

ITextHover textHover = IResourceServiceProvider.Registry.INSTANCE.getResourceServiceProvider(URI.createURI("dummy.mydsl")).get(ITextHover.class);
if (textHover instanceof DefaultCompositeHover) {