Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » 4DIAC - Framework for Distributed Industrial Automation and Control » Logging Event Timing Data
Logging Event Timing Data [message #1841011] Fri, 30 April 2021 12:27 Go to next message
Eclipse UserFriend
Hi!

I'm new to 4DIAC and currently writing my undergraduates thesis on timing analysis of event traces/chains.

I was wondering if there is a way to log tracing data of event input/outputs to the console or another output file.

My supervisor suggested that this was possible, so I wanted to ask how I could go about actually doing it.

Many thanks in advance.
Re: Logging Event Timing Data [message #1841018 is a reply to message #1841011] Fri, 30 April 2021 13:30 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Alois Zoitl is currently offline Alois ZoitlFriend

Hi,

we have an CMake configuration option that allows you to activate tracing of events to the console. you can find this option in the advanced section. However this tracing is implemented rather badly as it just writes timestamps and event names to the console. I guess if you want to do more accurate analysis you may want to replace that tracing feature. For that you need to main places one is the CFunctionBlock::receiveInputEvent() and the other is CFunctionBlock::sendOutputEvent() both can be found in the file funcbloc.cpp. In both functions you can find the line FORTE_TRACE which is our tracing facility.

If you wold also like to trace sent adapter events you need the method CFunctionBlock::sendAdapterEvent().

I hope this helps.
Re: Logging Event Timing Data [message #1841033 is a reply to message #1841018] Sat, 01 May 2021 04:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Barry Dowdeswell is currently offline Barry DowdeswellFriend
Hi Philipp,