Skip to main content


Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » What happens when a user-installed feature is subsequently installed to the shared installation?(Understanding features installed to user area vs shared area)
What happens when a user-installed feature is subsequently installed to the shared installation? [message #1833822] Sun, 25 October 2020 00:26
SP Chan is currently offline SP ChanFriend
Messages: 4
Registered: October 2020
Junior Member
In a shared installation, I think of user adding features to their writable area.

What happens when the admin subsequenlty adds the same feature to the shared area?

1. Which version wins?
2. If the user sees an Update can the update be applied to their version?

For a feature that exists only in the shared area, I observe that the user cannot update it(clearly), but there is also no option to install the newer version into their writable area.

But what happens if the user happened to have the feature in the writable area due to installing it before the admin? Can they then update the feature in their private copy?

Previous Topic:Installation trouble
Next Topic:[SOLVED] User sees update available from shared installation, but admin user does not
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Sun Nov 29 14:17:04 GMT 2020

Powered by FUDForum. Page generated in 0.03075 seconds
.:: Contact :: Home ::.

Powered by: FUDforum 3.0.2.
Copyright ©2001-2010 FUDforum Bulletin Board Software

Back to the top