Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » Java Development Tools (JDT) » Maven/Dynamic Web project breaking when increasing DWM version(By increasing the Dynamic Web Module from 2.3 (default) to 2.5 or higher the project fails)
Maven/Dynamic Web project breaking when increasing DWM version [message #1822403] Thu, 05 March 2020 16:55 Go to next message
Leo Doms is currently offline Leo DomsFriend
Hello,
I'm new to java web apps. I have some experience with PHP and JSP scriptlets, and now want to learn more about servlets and JSTL/EL
I set up an environment as follows (Windows 10 64 bit)

1. Eclipse 2019-12
  2. WildFly 18.0.1 final
  3. JDK 13

I created a Maven Dynamic web project from org.apache.maven.archetypes, and after setting up the runtime and java versions, the project builds without errors and shows the "Hello World" page.
I read that In order to use JSTL/EL, I must have dynamic web module version 2.5 or higher. The default that is set in the project is 2.3, so I increased it, and from then on everything goes terribly wrong.
There are some errors that I can't get rid off

1. One or more constraints have not been satisfied.Cannot change version of project facet Dynamic Web Module to 2.3.
  2. One or more constraints have not been satisfied.

Despite the errors, I can run the project and it returns a http 403, forbidden status back from the server.

I've been fiddling around with facet versions for days, but I can't repair this project. Creating a new one always works fine, until I touch the dynamic web module version, which produces the 403 http error.

Is there a way out ?
Thanks
Leo
Re: Maven/Dynamic Web project breaking when increasing DWM version [message #1822558 is a reply to message #1822403] Mon, 09 March 2020 20:43 Go to previous messageGo to next message